Board of Directors

NID is governed by a five-member Board of Directors, elected to four-year terms by district voters. The board is the district’s policy-making body and policy is carried out by approximately 190 full- and part-time employees.

Members of the board are elected from within and represent five geographical divisions within the district. See map. Directors are compensated per guidelines set in the California Water Code (Section 21165).

Constituents wishing to contact members of the board are invited to e-mail the directors at the addresses listed below or contact Board Secretary Kris Stepanian (273-6185, ext. 222), who will be happy to put you in contact with your elected representative.


Ricki Heck, President
Director, Division I (Current Term of Office 12/2018 – 12/2022)

Ricki Heck has lived in Nevada County for 38 years.  In her career Ricki has been a consultant to the California Legislature, and an Executive Director of a local non-profit agency; and most recently, in the private sector she oversaw more than $750 million dollars in investment real estate funds throughout the Southern United States.  Ricki chose to bring her knowledge and experience in business to NID with the intent of serving our community.  She is a mother of five children and is the grandmother of a brand new set of twins!


Chris Bierwagen, Vice President 
Director, Division II (Current Term of Office 12/2018 – 12/2022)

Chris Bierwagen is a lifelong, 4th generation farmer, growing on the same property that his great grandfather purchased in 1902. He has served as a member of the Ag Advisory Committee to the Nevada County Board of Supervisors, the Nevada County Resources Conservation District Board, the USDA Farm Service Agency Nevada County Committee, and was a volunteer fireman, fire chief, and Fire District Board Director. He was also President and Board member for the Nevada County Growers Market, and President of the Nevada County Farm Bureau, completing its year-long training.

this is hidden forces text past photos

W. Scott Miller, MD
Director, Division III (Current Term of Office 12/2016 – 12/2020)

Scott Miller of rural Grass Valley has served as the Division III representative on the NID board since 2000. Dr. Miller is a family physician with a practice near Lake of the Pines and has been active in local school and youth programs. A Vallejo native, Dr. Miller has practiced medicine since 1983. He graduated from the University of California, Santa Barbara and completed his medical training at the University of Louisville.

this is hidden forces text past photos

Laura L. Peters
Director, Division IV (Current Term of Office 12/2018 – 12/2022)

Laura Peters has lived in rural Placer County since 1999. Ms. Peters is a registered Civil Engineer with 26 years of practice in water resources. Her experience includes municipal water and wastewater planning, design, and construction inspection in private industry; and water supply planning, operations, and maintenance engineering at the County level. Most recently she has worked for the State of CA  in the capacity of program manager and program engineer.


Nick Wilcox 
Director, Division V (Current Term of Office 12/2016 – 12/2020)

Nick Wilcox of Penn Valley, Nevada County, has served on the NID Board since 2008. Mr. Wilcox brings wide experience in the water industry to his elected position. He is retired from the State Water Resources Control Board where he worked as a supervising Environmental Scientist in the Division of Water Rights, serving most recently as Chief of the Bay-Delta Unit. In this position, he participated in the promulgation and implementation of water quality objectives for the protection of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and the San Francisco Bay Estuary.